Nobody's Son

Nobody's Son

A Memoir

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
"For readers of W.G. Sebald and Daniel Mendelsohn, by a writer whose storytelling is 'devastatingly agile' (New York Times Book Review). Born in Czechoslovakia, Mark Slouka's parents survived the Nazis only to be forced to then escape the Communist purges after the war. Smuggled out of their own country, the newlyweds joined a tide of refugees moving from Innsbruck to Sydney to New York, dragging with them a history of blood and betrayal that their son would be born into. From World War I to the present, Slouka pieces together a remarkable story of refugees and war, displacement and denial, admitting into evidence memories, dreams, stories, the lies we inherit and the lies we tell -- in an attempt to reach his mother, the figure at the center of the labyrinth. Her story -- the revelation of her life-long burden and the forty-year love affair that might have saved her -- shows the way out of the maze"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : W.W. Norton & Company, [2016]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2016
ISBN: 9780393292312
0393292312
Branch Call Number: E-BOOK
Characteristics: 1 online resource (274 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates) : illustrations

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
Rock_Shadow
Dec 09, 2016

Heart wrenching memoir. It travels in time, slowly revealing the portrait of Slouka's mother and the author's soul. I expected an immigrant story, but it was much more, a story of a family, wrapped in secrets, mysteries, and tragedies. Amazingly honest.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SJCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top