Stir

Stir

My Broken Brain and the Meals That Brought Me Home

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
Penguin Putnam
An exquisite memoir about how food connects us to ourselves, our lives, and each other.

At 28, Jessica Fechtor was happily immersed in graduate school and her young marriage, and thinking about starting a family. Then one day, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. She nearly died. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and was forced to the sidelines of the life she loved.

Jessica’s journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was able to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she drew strength from the restorative power of cooking and baking. Written with intelligence, humor, and warmth,Stir is a heartfelt examination of what it means to nourish and be nourished.

Woven throughout the narrative are 27 recipes for dishes that comfort and delight. For readers of M.F.K.Fisher, Molly Wizenberg, and Tamar Adler, as well as Oliver Sacks, Jill Bolte Taylor, and Susannah Cahalan,Stir is sure to inspire, and send you straight to the kitchen.

Random House, Inc.
An exquisite memoir about how food connects us to ourselves, our lives, and each other.

At 28, Jessica Fechtor was happily immersed in graduate school and her young marriage, and thinking about starting a family. Then one day, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. She nearly died. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and was forced to the sidelines of the life she loved.

Jessica’s journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was able to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she drew strength from the restorative power of cooking and baking. Written with intelligence, humor, and warmth,Stir is a heartfelt examination of what it means to nourish and be nourished."

Woven throughout the narrative are 27 recipes for dishes that comfort and delight. For readers of M.F.K.Fisher, Molly Wizenberg, and Tamar Adler, as well as Oliver Sacks, Jill Bolte Taylor, and Susannah Cahalan,Stir is sure to inspire, and send you straight to the kitchen

Baker & Taylor
" M.F.K. Fisher meets Brain on Fire in this exquisite memoir of a 28-year-old food blogger who cooks her way back to health after a near-fatal aneurysm. Jessica Fechtor was on top of the world: a Harvard graduate student, happily married, and thinking about starting a family. Then, while attending an academic conference, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. Multiple surgeries left her skull startlingly deformed. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and her confidence about who she was and what mattered. Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was strong enough to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she learned about the restorative powers of kneading, salting, and sifting, that food had something to tell her, and that it felt good to listen. For readers of Molly Wizenberg, Tamar Adler, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl, as well as Oliver Sacks and Jill Bolte Taylor, Stir is a memoir (with recipes) of what it means to fix what's broken and live with what can't be fixed, to nourish and be nourished, to remember what it is to be hungry, honor that hunger, and learn how to feed it"--

Baker
& Taylor

"After suffering a brain aneurysm and a life-threatening infection, Jessica Fechtor set about cooking and baking to pull herself back together again, fixing what was broken, and living with what couldn't be fixed"--
After an aneurysm burst in her brain, nearly killing her and taking away her sense of smell and the sight in her left eye, a popular food blogger shares her journey of recovery, which began in the kitchen as she drew strength from the restorative power of cooking and baking.
After an aneurysm burst in her brain, nearly killing her and taking away her sense of smell and the sight in her left eye, a popular food blogger shares her journey of recovery, which began in the kitchen as she drew strength from the restorative power of cooking and baking. 25,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York, New York : Avery, [2015]
ISBN: 9781594631320
1594631328
Branch Call Number: 616.133 F315s
Characteristics: xii, 271 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Summary

Add a Summary

ninafried Dec 19, 2015

Terrific book.

d
dfpoz
Oct 14, 2015

I LOVE this book. Rarely, do I find that a book jacket quote of a book being "impossible to put down" to be true. This is one of those times.

It is a great read for anyone who has been through a medical, neurological experience or who is a friend, relative or caregiver. You get the whole experience here--the confusion, frustration, challenges & moving on with life after. IMO, every neurosurgeon's office & every neuro support group should have this as required reading!

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lgold08540
Jun 30, 2015

Too sugarcoated for my liking, and her journey of recovery is too seamless. It is hard to feel empathy for this Harvard PHD candidate and her "broken brain."

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SJCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top