Hot Blooded

Hot Blooded

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
"It hasn't been the best week for Jessica McClain. Her mate has been kidnapped by a Goddess hell-bent on revenge -- but Jessica is playing for keeps. Because she's the only female werewolf in town...it comes with its own set of rules...and powers. Aided by two vamps, two loyal Pack members, and one very reluctant human, Jessica must rescue her man while coming to terms with what being a wolf really means. All in a day's work for a girl. The second novel in the Jessica McClain series is a full on action adventure featuring one angry Goddess and plenty of monsters, demons, and a few newly risen beasties.."-- Provided by publisher.
""The second Jessica McClain novel--a fast-paced and irresistibly sexy urban fantasy novel perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong." --Provided by the publisher"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : Orbit, 2013
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780316205214
0316205214
9781619693326
1619693321
9780316206389
0316206385
Characteristics: 325 p. ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
Sarah1984
May 06, 2016

12/1 - Considerably better than the first. Hot Blooded was action full speed from the opening pages. I love me a good 'special girl is really special' story, and this was a fantastic example of that genre. I loved how Jessica's powers kept confounding people with their strength, and the way the bad guys kept saying (although not in so many words) "You can't beat me." to which she would reply (again, not in so many words, except in reply to Selene's taunts) "Just watch me!"

There were a couple of questionable metaphors (or similes, I always get those two confused) - "She smiled like a shrew." for example. I'm not even sure which shrew she's referring to, the mole or the fishwife. In the mole's case, I seriously doubt shrews can smile, I don't think their mouths go that way. In the fishwife's case, smiling is not the first expression that comes to mind when I think of a shrew, scowling or screaming maybe, but not smiling. Either way, that's not the best way to describe what type of smile a person (or in this case vampire) is giving. I had to go back and re-read it, and then think about how a shrew (in whichever case) would smile, I couldn't come up with an image of it. Bad simile (I looked it up, it's a simile when the word 'like' is used) is bad.

Despite this, and a couple of examples of badly worded sentences that I didn't bother taking note of due to the aforementioned non-stop action, I was completely immersed in the story. The story covers Jessica, Danny, Tyler, and the vamp twins' journey to recover Rourke from Selene's evil clutches. At every turn there's a new, previously unknown evil beast from hell that needs to be defeated - venomous vampire bats, naiads, spider/scorpion hybrids, laser-eyed zombie goats (really?) and finally Selene herself. And at every turn Jessica's powers prove themselves stronger than anything this deranged goddess can put in their path. Jessica gets a pack (mini though it is), becomes a queen (though she doesn't want the honour), and defeats that goddess, all without any permanent damage (not counting psychological). This was definitely better than the first and I can't wait to read the next one!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at SJCPL.

Try searching for Hot Blooded to see if SJCPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top