No Child of Mine

No Child of Mine

A Novel

eBook - 2013
Average Rating:
2
1
Rate this:
From internationally bestselling British author Susan Lewis comes an unflinching, thoroughly suspenseful novel—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult—about the darkest secrets a family can hide. Alex Lake's life is centered on helping people. Her job as a social worker in a British seaside town is more than a career: It's the very essence of who she is. And though there are frustrations, Alex takes to heart the rewards of placing a child in a safe and loving home. But when she encounters three-year-old Ottilie Wade, Alex is completely unprepared for the effect the sweet, shy little girl has on her. Though on the surface Ottilie seems to want for nothing—she's perfectly healthy and lives in a very nice home—she's mysteriously silent and asocial. Alex knows that something is not right in the Wade house. And the deeper she looks into the case, the more Alex comes to feel that she and Ottilie are being drawn together by fate. As disturbing evidence mounts and Alex's superiors seem unwilling to help, Alex knows she will have to risk everything—her job and the life she loves—to save Ottilie. But Alex will also have to wrestle the demons of her own past before she can secure a future for this child in need.BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Susan Lewis's Don't Let Me Go.Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Publisher: 2013
ISBN: 9780345547767
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
SHELLY BURNS
Aug 25, 2015

i enjoyed the story line i thought what happened was so cool

1
1_Great_Book
Jul 31, 2014

Couldn't put it down and read right through the night! What a gifted storyteller. Child protection isn't even a general interest of mine. I have ordered the sequel and hope it's as good. I guess publishers weekly doesn't realize the amount of paperwork and involvement that social workers need to do before intervention can occur. I did not find it repetitive or poorly written at all.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...
SJCPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top