Sidetracked

Sidetracked

Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
A psychologist and business professor takes an in-depth look at decision-making, explaining the pitfalls people can avoid to stay on track with their decisions and reach their goals. 25,000 first printing.

Perseus Publishing
You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick?and you finally reach your intended goals.

Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances?from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino’s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed?so you have more control over keeping them on track.

You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals.

Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino’s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.


Book News
Research has shown that emotions evoked by the weather can influence decisions on how stocks are traded on Wall Street. Drawing on experiments and interesting examples showing how subtle influences can lead people and major companies astray in decision-making even to the point of crossing ethical boundaries, Gino (business administration, Harvard Business School) presents principles for avoiding common decision mistakes. Chapters include tips and self-assessments. Annotation ©2013 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Baker
& Taylor

Looks at decision-making, explaining the pitfalls people can avoid to stay on track with their decisions and reach their goals.

Publisher: Boston, Mass. : Harvard Business Review Press, c2013
ISBN: 9781422142691
1422142698
Characteristics: viii, 260 p. ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at SJCPL.

Try searching for Sidetracked to see if SJCPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top