June 6, 1944

June 6, 1944

The Voices of D-Day

Book - 1994
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
More than seventy personal accounts and twenty-four pages of photographs of the Normandy Invasion redefine World War II's most astounding operation

Blackwell North Amer
This is a definitive, and redefining, book: On the 50th anniversary of the single greatest combined land-sea-air operation of World War II, American GIs, British Tommies, soldiers, sailors, paratroopers, Rangers, and Commandos who breached Fortress Europe tell what really happened as they braved a firestorm of Nazi shot and shell.
The June 6, 1944, cross-channel assault mustered 120,000 Allied soldiers, a fleet of 5,000 vessels, and an aerial armada of 1,000 bombers for a precisely orchestrated, devastating blow at the enemy. But the action failed to follow the script, as inadequate intelligence, human error, and nature conspired to nearly wreck in a few hours the elaborate plans that had been kept secret from Hitler for many months.
Here, the men who were there tell what they felt before they dropped from the sky or splashed ashore, what went wrong and why, and how they pressed through the fearsome resistance that claimed so many of their comrades. Their more than seventy accounts, brilliantly interwoven and abundantly documented with photographs, present the savagery of combat at its fiercest. In the tradition of John Keegan's The Face of Battle, World War II veteran Gerald Astor has written a book that radically revises our understanding of "The Longest Day" in an unmediated, unforgettable way that is, finally, the most fitting tribute to the valor of those who endured it.

Baker
& Taylor

More than seventy personal accounts and twenty-four pages of photographs of the Normandy Invasion redefine World War II's most astounding operation in honor of its fiftieth anniversary. By the author of A Blood-Dimmed Tide.

Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 1994
ISBN: 9780312110147
0312110146
Characteristics: xii, 370 p., [24] p. of plates : ill., map ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at SJCPL.

Try searching for June 6, 1944 to see if SJCPL owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top